I want to hear what you have to say about our ability for civil discourse as a nation.

I am up in Canada for a week, teaching, and I am struck by the politeness of conversations on hot topics.

I think that Talk Radio, especially the “rant” hosts, have hurt our democracy.

Radio is a one-way medium. You can set up straw men and torch them. You can control who calls in and you hold the squelch button.

Over 6,000 people have read this blog in the last few weeks.

I used to let everyone post.

Lately, I have been deleting “rants” of left and right wing flavor.

If left and right just continue to rant at each other, we will become ungovernable as a nation. Then democracy fails.

Anyone else out there besides me who would like to see an unusually stubborn attempt to civilize our conversations on the difficult topics of the day?

It starts with respectful answers to statements made by those who disagree with us.

