Have a look at this FASCINATING video from the Royal Society of the Arts.

Link to share: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l7AWnfFRc7g

What if we aren’t totally sinful? Granted, we all have incurable sinful tendencies, and we need a Savior, but what if the Lord also implanted countering tendencies like empathy?

For those of you looking for a definition of Total Depravity, see the Wikipedia article on the same topic.

I’ve been a committed follower of Christ for some time now, and have never, in my gut, totally bought into the notion that we are “totally depraved.” I’ve always gotten chills when we sing “saved a wretch like me.” Does the creator create wretches?

Never liked saying over and over every Sunday that “I am in bondage to sin and cannot free myself.” Felt like reinforcing a curse. I think I can say “yes and no” to that on different levels, but it’s just not that simple.

I would say that we are more complex than that.

We are beautiful and broken.

We are noble and sometimes pathetic.

What if original sin is true. AND original blessing…

Does it have to be all or nothing?

I’m Lutheran in my tendencies, and Lutherans have always been good at holding things in tension. Already and not yet. Simul iustus et peccator, etc. That works for me.

This is a key issue in evangelization–if we can’t agree, basically, about the human condition, with those we are trying to reach, we have no table on which to serve the “dinner” of the Gospel.

I would love to hear your thoughts. The conservative TULIP Calvinists among us are going to go nuts.

Isn’t what the Bible teaches much richer than “total depravity?”

Have at it. But play nice. :-)